The Kind Of Weekend I can Enjoy……

I went to my eldest daughter’s place this weekend. To do their plastering…. I bonded, I fitted angle beads, I plastered, I worked my butt off! Next weekend I’ll go there again, and I’ll finish it off and sort out the leak on the bath and fit it properly…and I’ll work my butt off again….and for the second weekend on the trot….I’ll get to sit and talk to my lovely daughter, and we”ll drink wine and try and make sense of the past and the 28 year seperation her mother forced on us, and I’ll talk with her hubby about football and how their business is going, and spend time with my two fantastic grandsons.

My normal weekend tends to be spending time talking with my wife about almost everything, playing Trivial Pursuit…or Scrabble with the children…or sitting reading and listening to music, sometimes it’s just gathering as a family in the hub of the house -the dining room- where we tend to congregate and chat and exchange views about what’s going on  in our lives and the great wide world and how we feel about it all…..

Compare my weekend to that of people worldwide, living in hardship and starving….or even the people of this western world who go through life never appreciating what they have or the good life they enjoy……..

I’ll work my butt off any day to spend time with the people I love….but of course I don’t have to do that….they’re there, at home I have my wife and two grown up children, and I can now go and see my grown up, and very capable eldest daughter, with her hubby and children whenever I want…..a big daughter shaped hole in my life has been filled, no thanks can repay her spiteful and egocentric mother for putting us back in contact with each other now, whatever her motives, I just wish it had happened  a very long time ago, we both missed out on a lot of life, but we’re making up for it….

Yes…this was the kind of weekend I can enjoy, and may there be many more like this!

About Steve

I'm a toolmaker by trade, still working hard programming, setting and running CNC mills and lathes. I do a 72 miles round trip each day for work, driving through some of the most beautiful countryside rural England has to offer along the Wylye Valley next to Salisbury Plain in Wiltshire. I've been married to my Irish wife Catherine for 21 years, and we have two children, Sam, 19 and Megan, 17. I also have two grown up children from being married before, Gary, 35 with two boys, Eddie and Alfie, and Jeani, 31 also with two boys, Alfee and Max. I love walking, gardening, cooking, reading, music and good wine! I'm also a fanatical cricket fan, and firmly believe that if all the guns were put down and factions settled their differences on the field, countries would all settle down peacfully and moan about the umpires....much more civilised, and a hell of a lot cheaper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Kind Of Weekend I can Enjoy……

  1. Jen says:

    Hey Steve,
    Your weekend sounds wonderful that is all except the part about the ex, and I mean that in the nicest way.
    It is difficult even after they’re grown trying to untangle the memories and mess of divorce. Although I haven’t been my three oldest children are my husbands and technically my step-children. Something always comes up that needs to be sorted out.
    Best do it over a good puzzle or game and a great glass of wine!
    Glad all is well.

  2. Hi Steve,
    I am so sorry the time was stolen from you and your daughter… nothing can change that… but you know what… you have her NOW… God Bless That! I hope you continue to have many many more blessings! Thank you for sharing.
    Take care,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

