Finding Something To Smile About

If you’re anything like me, in this age of economic misery, terrorism and feeling like technology is rather taking the mickey out of you some days, you might struggle to find something worth a smile.

Thankfully, I don’t have that problem anymore. Some time ago one of my friends sent me an email with an attachment, a letter to the makers of a well known brand of sanitary pads. Once I’d managed to stop laughing, I did a google search and found out who wrote it, and linked to the site…if you’ve never read that gem, you’ll find it here…The Always Letter..by Wendi Aarons, and she’s been making me smile and laugh ever since.

Having been the type of dad who spent as much time as I could with my children as they were growing up, I can relate to some of the hilarious and sometimes touching blogs written by a lot of very funny, and very talented , bloggers that I’ve discovered since first finding Wendi’s blog. People like Mama KatThe Bitchin Wives ClubMommy Is In Timeout , The Bloggess  and one of the very best Desperate Housemommy. If you ever have a problem you want help with, look no further than the Mouthy Housewives or if you use facebook, you can follow it here, you’ll also find most of the others on facebook, and you’ll find links to many more on their pages.

So between facebook, twitter and email notifications, I’ve always got something to read that will make me smile. Writing a blog is one thing, producing the witty and often informative blogs these talented writers do displays a remarkable talent. Finding Wendi Aarons’ blog has taken me on a quite a journey, and I’m still enjoying the ride.

So thanks Wendi….keep ’em coming!

About Steve

I'm a toolmaker by trade, still working hard programming, setting and running CNC mills and lathes. I do a 72 miles round trip each day for work, driving through some of the most beautiful countryside rural England has to offer along the Wylye Valley next to Salisbury Plain in Wiltshire. I've been married to my Irish wife Catherine for 21 years, and we have two children, Sam, 19 and Megan, 17. I also have two grown up children from being married before, Gary, 35 with two boys, Eddie and Alfie, and Jeani, 31 also with two boys, Alfee and Max. I love walking, gardening, cooking, reading, music and good wine! I'm also a fanatical cricket fan, and firmly believe that if all the guns were put down and factions settled their differences on the field, countries would all settle down peacfully and moan about the umpires....much more civilised, and a hell of a lot cheaper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Something To Smile About

  1. Alison says:

    The best laughter is when you’re having a caotic day, the kind where nothing else can possibly go wrong but does and one of your kids says something crazy that just stops you in your tracks. Nothing else matter and all the stress of the day disappears. I love those moments!

Leave a Reply

